​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Patient Safety Authority (PSA) is proud to recognize the winners of the I AM Patient Safety 2022 Achievement Awards. We are grateful for their inspiring and life-changing accomplishments in patient safety in the last year.


Judges selected ten winners and twenty runners-up from individuals and teams from 129 nominations, submitted by 66 healthcare facilities throughout Pennsylvania and from around the United States, for their individual and/or team commitment to improving patient safety.

• Evident commitment to patient safety
• Focus on training and education
• Indicative of strong patient safety culture in the facility
• Initiative taken by individual/group

The PSA thanks everyone who submitted a nomination. If you know an individual or group who should be recognized for their patient safety efforts, please nominate them for the 2023 I AM Patient Safety contest during the next nomination period.


2022 IAPS Executive Director's Choice Award Winners HAI Focus Team WellSpan Good Samaritan Hospital  
Executive Director’s Choice Award
Winner: Ambulatory Care/Surgery Award  
Ambulatory Care/Surgery Award
2022 IAPS Improving Diagnosis Award Winner Joyce Litwak, Lehigh Valley Hospital  
Improving Diagnosis Award


2022 IAPS Individual Impact Award Winner Kristen Keane, Phoenixville Hospital  
 Individual Impact Award
2022 IAPS Long Term Facility Award Winner, Desirer Schuler, Hometown nursing & Rehabilitation Center        
Long-Term Care Award
2022 IAPS Nationwide Warrior Award Winner Perioperative Surgery, Northwell Health  
Nationwide Warrior Award
2022 IAPS Physician Offices Award Winner Melissa Bauman Lehigh Valley Physcian Group  
         Physician Offices Award
2022 IAPS Safety Story Award Winner Registered Nurses on 5 Cathcart/Schiedt (Medical-Surgical Unit) Penn Medicine  
Safety Story​ Award
2022 Sepsis Award Winner Emergency Dept. Team, Dr. Christopher Stromski and Ryan Kloss St Luke's  
Sepsis Award
2022 IAPS Time-Outs Award Winner The Pre-Procedure Time-Out Taskforce Penn Medicine Pennsylvania Hospital  
Time-Outs Award
2022 IAPS Transparency &  Safety Award Winner UPMC Carlisle and Central Pennsylvania Hospitals  
         Transparency and Safety Award


Ambulatory Care/Surgery Facility

  • ​Bethel Park Surgery Center Team, Allegheny Health Network – Bethel Park Surgery Center
  • Jamie Hallam and Front Office Staff, Spartan Health Surgicenter


  • Dr. Jaber Monla-Hassan, Einstein Medical Center Montgomer
  • Dixon Foundation Health Center Team: Anila Gidwani, Rebecca Topping, Bethany Dieffenderfer, WellSpan Dixon Foundation Health Center


  • Theresa Lasko, RN & Deborah Gruntz, RN, Welcome Center Senior Teammates, Advanced Surgical Hospital
  • Adrienne Bellino-Ailinger, RN, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery - Einstein Endoscopy Center Blue Bell


  • Alicia Elvidge, NHA, Chief Executive Officer, South Mountain Restoration Center
  • ​Kimberly Krall, Thornwald Home


  • The Second Victim Committee, VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System
  • Rinisha Thomas, RN & Tatiana Ziegler, RN, Delaware Valley Veterans Home


  • Tammy Bowman, Office Coordinator, LVPG Hematology/Oncology Office, Lehigh Valley Physician Group
  • Outpatient Falls Prevention Team, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery


  • The PAR (Patient At Risk) Bundle Team, Pennsylvania Hospital
  • Monitor Technician Department, UPMC Community Osteopathic


  • WellSpan Health Sepsis Team, WellSpan Health
  • Dr. Jaber Monla-Hassan, Dr. Robert Czincila, Kim Mikula, Kim Vitelli, Olivia Johnson, Scott Urbinati, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery


  • Radiology Department, Chester County Hospital
  • The Allegheny Health Network Perioperative Education Team, Allegheny Health Network


  • Central Sterile Processing Department — UPMC Hamot
  • Rosanna Catania-Venuto, MSN, RN  — Chester County Hospital

​Past Winners

2021 Patient Safety Winners 

2020 Patient Safety Winners 

2019 Patient Safety Winners

Contact us