I AM Patient Safety 2019 Winners

​The Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority is proud to recognize the 11 individual winners and winning teams of the 2019 "I AM Patient Safety" contest. These winners, all from Pennsylvania healthcare facilities, have demonstrated a personal and notable commitment to patient safety, and shared amazing patient safety stories. They are recognized by the Authority and their professional peers for the progress they have made to improve patient safety in their respected healthcare facilities.



The Authority received 153 nominations in 10 award categories and selected winners according to the following criteria:

  • Evident commitment to patient safety
  • Focus on training and education
  • Indicative of strong patient safety culture in the facility
  • Initiative taken by individual/group

Each winner is celebrated individually, and then collectively during Patient Safety Awareness Week 2019 (March 10 - March 16). Awards include a certificate of recognition, a token of appreciation, and mentions in the Authority's March 2019 Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory and 2018 Annual Report. Winners will be formally recognized at the Authority’s second annual Pennsylvania Patient Safety Summit (P2S2) in State College, Pennsylvania, on May 2, 2019.

The Authority thanks everyone who submitted a nomination. If you know an individual or group who should be recognized for their patient safety efforts, please nominate them for the 2020 "I Am Patient Safety" contest during the next nomination period.

Below, the Authority will feature winning stories each week, starting the week of February 11, 2019.

Winner: Executive Director’s Choice Award  
Executive Director’s Choice Award
Winner: Ambulatory Care/Surgery Award  
Ambulatory Care/Surgery Award
Winner: Best Use of Authority Resources  
Best Use of Authority Resources Award
Winner: Focus on the Patient Award  
Focus on the Patient Award
Winner: Improving Diagnosis Award  
Improving Diagnosis Award
Winner: Individual Impact Award  
Individual Impact Award
Winner: Innovation Award  
Innovation Award
Winner: Safety Story (Near Miss or Close Call) Award  
Safety Story Award
Winner: Long-Term Care Award  
Long-Term Care Award
Winner: Transparency and Safety Award  
Transparency and Safety Award
Winner: Video Award  
Video Award