IAPS achievement awards. Healthcare workers across the top of the banner  


The I AM Patient Safety award is an annual contest that recognizes and celebrates healthcare staff for their individual or collective commitment to and influences on patient safety. It is a chance for us to celebrate the things that go right each day in healthcare to make our patients safer. We will also highlight two runners-up in each category to honor more patient safety heroes for their extraordinary work. We at the Patient Safety Authority (PSA) invite you to nominate individuals or teams who have made a difference in patient safety.

​Award Categories

  •  Executive Director's Choice
    • ​The PSA’s executive director will select one award winner from all nominations received
  • Ambulatory Care/Surgery Facility 
    • ​The winner will be an individual or a team who advanced surgical safety
      • ​​Examples include developing an innovative intervention to prevent surgical site infections, creating a process to prevent wrong-site surgeries, and involving patients in an improvement project
  • Improving Diagnosis
    • ​The winner will be an individual or a team who enhanced the diagnostic process or made considerable effort to reduce diagnostic error​ ​
      • Examples include improving patient/family communication around the diagnostic process; expanding the diagnostic team with nonproviders, e.g., nurses, therapists, techs, and patients; crafting technological solutions to reduce misdiagnosis; and improving the diagnosis and management of a medical condition
  • Individual Impact
    • The winner will be an individual who made a significant impact on a patient or their facility​

      • ​Examples include taking steps to provide exceptional patient care, providing a heartfelt moment for a patient/colleague, creating a fun/innovative care environment, and stories that makes you say “Wow!"​
  • Long-Term Care Facility 
    • The winner will be an individual or a team who advanced patient safety at a long-term care facility 
      • ​Examples include identifying and communicating a safety concern, initiating a new program/process to prevent infections, involving residents in a patient safety initiative, and reducing the rate of a healthcare-associated infection or other safety-related metric
  • Nationwide Warriors
    • Open to any individual or team in the United States    
      • The winner will be an individual or a team who went above and beyond to advance patient safety, developed innovative harm reduction strategies, or created a nurturing care environment for their patients
  • Physician Offices
    • Open to medical offices independently licensed or part of a larger health system
      • The winner will be an individual or a team who demonstrated the importance of patient safety in the physician office setting
  • ​Safety Story  ​
    (Near Miss or Close Call)
    • ​Near misses are circumstances that could have caused patient harm but did not. 
    • ​ The winner will be an individual or a team who intervened before an injury occurred
      • Examples include reporting an event that catalyzed facilitywide change, implementing a new inspection process following equipment failure, and identifying a potentially catastrophic situation
  • Sepsis
    • The winner will be an individual or a team who advanced the diagnosis or treatment of sepsis
      • Examples include developing a new/better process for early recognition, creating a more robust treatment model, and implementing a successful initiative to reduce sepsis mortality
  • Time-Outs
    • The winner will be an individual or a team who best used or innovated time-outs
      • Examples include using a time-out to prevent an adverse event, implementing bedside/procedural time-outs, and innovating surgical time-outs
  • Transparency and Safety in Healthcare
    • The winner will be an individual or a team who improved transparency to advance patient safety
      • Examples include demonstrating commitment to transparency by leadership, broadly disseminating lessons learned from an event, designing and implementing a new process to link disclosure and system improvement, and employing an integrated team approach to safety and transparency 


White letters saying Judging criteria  with a blue background


Judges select individuals and teams from nominations, submitted by healthcare facilities throughout Pennsylvania and throughout the country, for their individual and/or team commitment to imprving patient safety.

  • Evident commitment to patient safety
  • Focus on high-level changes (for example, barriers and forced functions) and replicability
  • Indicative of strong patient safety culture in the facility
  • Initiative taken by individual/group

Past Winners

2023 Patient Safety Winners​

2022 Patient Safety Winners​​

2021 Patient Safety Winners ​

2020 Patient Safety Winners​ 

2019 Patient Safety Winners

Contact us