Patient Safety Authority Right-to-Know Law Request Policy
(Effective August 2, 2001, revised February 7, 2019)
Pursuant to 65 P.S. §§ 66.1 et seq., known as the Right-to-Know Law (RTKL), and relevant portions of the Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error (MCARE) Act, 40 P.S. §§ 1303.301 to 1303.313, the Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority (Authority) hereby sets forth the following policy for requesting records under the RTKL:
All RTKL requests must be in writing and must be sent or delivered to the Authority as designated below:
By U.S. mail to:
Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority
Attn: Agency Open Records Officer
333 Market Street, Lobby Level
Harrisburg, PA 17101
By electronic mail to:
Subject: Agency Open Records Officer
Submission of a request to any other address or by any other means than those specified above does not give rise to any obligation by the Authority to respond and cannot serve as a basis for a deemed denial of the request.
All RTKL requests to the Authority must:
Identify the requester by name;
State that the requester is a resident of this Commonwealth;
Include the address to which a response should be sent;
Expressly state that the request is being made under the RTKL;
Be signed by the requester;
Identify or describe the records requested with sufficient specificity to enable the Authority to determine what records are being sought.
Under the RTKL only a natural person and a resident of this Commonwealth is entitled to public records. The Authority may require a requester of records under the RTKL to provide proof of residency, such as a Pennsylvania driver's license.
Photocopies from paper documents or electronic records converted to paper: $0.15 per 11 x 17 inch or smaller page. A page is either a single-sided document or one side of a double-sided document. The fee for one page of any irregular size document will be determined on an as-requested basis, not to exceed $0.25 per page.
Compact disc: $1.00 each.
Certification of a document: $1.00 per page.
Redaction (as determined by the Authority to be required): $1.00 per page.
If the cost to the Authority of providing a requested item exceeds the above fees because of unusual circumstances such as, but not limited to, the need for off-premises copying, traveling, or out-sourcing, the Authority may charge its actual cost of providing the requested item rather than the stated fee.
The Authority may require prepayment if the anticipated cost to fulfill a request exceeds $100. Unless prepayment is made by certified check or money order, access will be denied until the check clears. All checks should be made payable to "Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority." If the Authority requires prepayment, the request for prepayment will specify a reasonable period of time in which payment must be received. If the Authority does not receive payment, or if a noncertified check does not clear, within the specified time, the Authority may deny the RTKL request on that basis.
This policy was adopted by the Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority Board of Directors on August 2, 2004, and was reviewed and revised on February 7, 2019 by the Executive Director, Regina M. Hoffman.
Regina M. Hoffman MBA, BSN, RN, CPPS