​​​​​​​​​​​​The Patient Safety Authority (PSA) is proud to recognize the winners of the I AM Patient Safety 2023 Achievement Awards. We are grateful for their inspiring and life-changing accomplishments in patient safety in the last year


Jesse Hixson, MSN, CNOR, RN, Administrator

Allegheny Health Network Monroeville Ambulatory Surgery Center

Ambulatory Care/Surgery Facility 

Mary Houton, Susan Walker, Carly Morgan, Hannah Doherty, Deepa Callahan and the Ambulatory Surgical Center and Infection Prevention Registered Nurses​

Penn Medicine Pennsylvania Hospital

Improving Diagnosis 

Jung Yun, MD,  Ryan Lee, MD, Peter Wang, MD, Meera Kasireddy, Terence Matalon, MD, Radiology Department and Kevin Lo, MD,​ Internal Medicine Dept

​​Einstein Healthcare Network, Part of Jefferson Health

Individual Impact — Going Above and Beyond

​Jenny Rex MSN, RN, Nursing Professional Development Specialist, Pediatric Intermediate and Intensive Care Units, and Adrian Zurca, MD, MEd, Staff Physician, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

​​​Penn State Health Miltson S. Hershey Medical Center

​​Long-Term Care Facility

 Donelle Grove, RN, Infection Preventionist

​​​​​​​South Mountain Restoration Center

Nationwide Warriors

Cyndi Brinkley

​​Riverside Walter Reed Hospita​l Gloucester, Virginia

Physician Offices

Quality Department

​​​​OSS Health

Safety Story (Near​ Miss or Close Call)

Suzanne Swift, 4 South, and Nancy Patterson, Professional Development/Med-Surg

​​​St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children


Jaber Monla-Hassan, MD, Olivia Johnson, PharmD, ​Christopher Anderson, PharmD, and Kim Mikula, MSN, RN

​​​Einstein Medical Center Montgomery


Sara Frey, Pharmacist Pharmacy

Lehigh Valley Health Network​

Transparency and Safety in Healthcare

Behavioral Health 6 Spruce Shared Governance

​​​Penn Medicine Pennsylvania Hospital


Ambulatory Care/Surgery Facility

  • Adrienne Bellino-Ailinger
    Einstein Endoscopy Center Blue Bell
  • The Direct Access Colonoscopy Team
    Einstein Endoscopy Center Blue Bell


  • Kara Mascitti, MD, MSCE, FACP, FIDSA, Medical Director, Healthcare Epidemiology and Infection Prevention; Alex Matika, PharmD, Pharmacist, Clinical Specialist; and Lauren Allen, PharmD, Pharmacist, Clinical Specialist
    St. Luke's University Health Network
  • Critical Care Unit
    WellSpan Health York


  • Kristen Farrell, Oncology Infusion Center
    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children
  • Alyssa Tousignant, RN, BSN
    Allegheny Health Network-Allegheny General Hospital


  • Nicole Ross, Angela Borgo, Susan Bell, Kerri Brooks, Lynn Sauers, Jake Thieret, Douglas Zundel, Rachael Blank and Lisa Painter and the UPMC Senior Living Multi-disciplinary Team
    UPMC Senior Living
  • Sugar Creek Station Managers
    Sugar Creek Nursing and Rehabilitation


  • Chrissie Blackburn
    Project Patient Care
  • Vidya Saldivar, Pharm D, Medication Safety Specialist; Mobolaji Adeola, Pharm D, Medication Safety Specialist; and Archana Sadhu, MD, Chair of Diabetes Action Council
    Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas


  • Amy Coppersmith
    WellSpan Health
  • Tiffany Irwin, Practice Coordinator
    UPMC Hamot


  • The Operating Room Department at Forbes Hospital and Sara Angelilli
    Allegheny Health Network
  • Beth Lindell, OR Manager
    Allegheny Health Network Saint Vincent Hospital


  • Jenna Mastromarino Riley
    Penn State Health St. Joseph Medical Center
  • Jefferson Health Sepsis Team
    Jefferson Health


  • Emily Roth, BSN, RN, Oncology Nursing
    Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Samantha Braverman
    Einstein Medical Center Montgomery


  • Patient Safety Officers
    Allegheny Health Network
  • Vicenta Gaspar-Yoo, MD, President; William Bailey, DO, Chief Medical Officer; Milissa Hammers, Chief Nursing Officer; Quality Safety Value Team (Patient Safety Officer, Regulatory Manager, Infection Control Nurse and Quality Manager)
    Allegheny Health Network

​Past Winners

2022 Patient Safety Winners 

2021 Patient Safety Winners 

2020 Patient Safety Winners 

2019 Patient Safety Winners

Contact us