2018 I Am Patient Safety Winners

The Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority is proud to recognize the 10 individual winners and winning teams of the 2018 "I Am Patient Safety" contest. These winners, all from Pennsylvania healthcare facilities, have demonstrated a personal and notable commitment to patient safety, and shared amazing patient safety stories. They are recognized by the Authority and their professional peers for the progress they have made to improve patient safety in their respected healthcare facilities.

The Authority received 206 nominations in nine award categories and selected winners according to the following criteria:

  • Evident commitment to patient safety
  • Focus on training and education
  • Indicative of strong patient safety culture in the facility
  • Initiative taken by individual/group

Each winner is celebrated individually, and then collectively during Patient Safety Awareness Week 2018 (March 11 – March 17). Awards include a certificate of recognition, a token of appreciation, a mention in the Authority's Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory, and a published photo in the Authority’s 2017 Annual Report. Winners will be formally recognized at the Authority’s first annual Pennsylvania Patient Safety Summit (P2S2) in State College, PA, on April 5, 2018.

The Authority thanks everyone who submitted a nomination. If you know an individual or group who should be recognized for their patient safety efforts, please nominate them for the 2019 "I Am Patient Safety" contest during the next nomination period. 


Michelle Nelsen        

Michelle Nelsen, RN            
UPMC Hamot
I Am Patient Safety 2018 winner of the "Improving Diagnosis" award and recipient of the 2018 “Executive Director’s Choice” award


Michelle Nelsen        

Janeen Smith, BSN, RN; Ann-Louise Jeffery, MSN, RNC-MNN; Liz Waterhouse, RNC-OB;  Jodi Levine, MD, FAAP; Trish Ward, MSN, RNC-OB; and Katie Costantini, MSN, RNC-MNN Chester County Hospital
I Am Patient Safety 2018 winners of the "Best Use of Authority Resources" award


Dr. Hannah Do        

Hannah Do, MD
Gastroenterologist and Medical Director of Total Parental Nutritional Services            
Cancer Treatment Centers of America® at Eastern Regional Medical Center
I Am Patient Safety 2018 winner of the "Focus on the Patient" award 


Dawn Emes        

  Dawn Emes, BSN, RN, CMSRN
  Lehigh Valley Hospital - Muhlenberg
  I Am Patient Safety 2018 winner of the "Good Catch" award


Dr. Hannah Do        

Janet Cahill
Microbiology Supervisor    
Einstein Medical Center Montgomery
I Am Patient Safety 2018 winner of the "Improving Diagnosis" award 


Debbie Balogh        

  Deborah Balogh, RN
  Shriners Hospitals for Children – Erie Ambulatory Surgery Center
  I Am Patient Safety 2018 winner of the
"Ambulatory Surgical Facility/Ambulatory Care Center" award

©2018 Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority