2017 I Am Patient Safety Winners

The Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority is proud to recognize the 14 Winners of the 2017 "I Am Patient Safety" contest. These winners, all from Pennsylvania healthcare facilities, have demonstrated a personal and notable commitment to patient safety. During Patient Safety Awareness Week 2017, March 12-18, these patient safety winners were recognized by the Authority and their professional peers for the progress they have made to improve patient safety in their respected healthcare facilities.

The Authority received 184 nominations and selected winners according to the following criteria:

  • Discernible impact on patient safety to one or multiple patients
  • Evident commitment to patient safety Indicative of strong patient safety culture in the facility
  • Demonstrable initiative taken by individual/group

Each winner received a personalized recognition poster to display at their facility for National Patient Safety Awareness Week, an individual certificate, a mention in the March 2017 Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory, a published photo in the Authority’s 2016 Annual Report, a complimentary celebration at their facility, four weeks of promotion from the Authority, and an invitation to attend the March 2017 Authority board meeting and luncheon, where they were recognized by Authority board members and staff.

The Authority thanks everyone who submitted a nomination. If you know an individual or group who should be recognized for their patient safety efforts, please nominate them for the 2018 "I Am Patient Safety" contest during the next nomination period. 

Trisha Patel
Trisha Patel, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP, Critical Care and Infectious Disease Pharmacist

Cancer Treatment Centers of America® at Eastern Regional Medical Center
Melissa Hewett, Arlene Stonelake, Megan Maloney
Melissa Hewitt, MSN, RNC-NIC, Clinical Nurse Manager
Arlene Stonelake, RNC 
Meghan Maloney, RNC

Labor & Delivery Department Einstein Medical
Center Montgomery
Rose Hall and team
Rose Hall, RT (R) (CT) & her team

CT Scan Department
Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia
Andrew Klee and team
Andrew Klee, Infection Control Practitioner & The Healthcare Acquired Infections Team

Guthrie Robert Packer Hospital
Paul Karlin
Paul Karlin, DO, Medical Director of Critical Care Unit (CCU) and Division Chief for Pulmonary Medicine

Jeanes Hospital
The Pain Center of OSS Health
The Pain Center of OSS Health

OSS Health
Erin Madden
Erin Madden, Patient Care Assistant – Nursing 4S PCT

Phoenixville Hospital
Wannetta Love
Wannetta Love, Registered Nurse

CCRN Intensive Care Unit
Phoenixville Hospital
Ashley Hartzell, Babette Rudick, Lisa Swenson, Jacqueline Brown, Tina Frank, Teresa Diez
Ashley Hartzell, RN
Babette Rudick, RN
Lisa Swenson, BSN, RN, ONC
Jacqueline Brown, MA
Tina Frank, MHS, BSN, RN
Teresa Diez, CRNP

Surgery Optimization Clinic
PinnacleHealth System
Endoscopy Department and Infection Prevention and Control Staff
Endoscopy Department & Infection Prevention and Control Staff

PinnacleHealth System
Renu Joshi and team
Renu Joshi, MD, Medical Director, Endocrinology & the Endocrinology Team

NP Inpatient Endocrinology Service
PinnacleHealth System
Donna Miller, Jessica Radicke, Marissa McMeen
Donna Miller, Nurse Manager Jessica Radicke Administrative Charge RN
Marissa McMeen, Infection Control Practitioner

Bone Marrow Transplant Unit
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Quality based Improvement Resident Teams
Quality Based Improvement Resident Teams

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
ICU Service Partners Infectious Disease Practitioners
ICU Service Partners Infectious Disease Practitioners

UPMC Susquehanna’s Williamsport Regional Medical Center