Celebrate the 2018 I Am Patient Safety Winners

Regina Hoffman, MBA, BSN, RN, CPPS
Executive Director
Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority


To those who care for patients daily, thank you for your dedication and commitment to providing safe patient care in Pennsylvania!

It is with great pleasure that the Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority shares the stories of the 2018 I Am Patient Safety contest winners. Sharing stories and learning from other healthcare facilities are two strategies that can help healthcare organizations in developing a culture of safety. This contest allows Pennsylvania healthcare facilities to showcase stories about how they are improving their safety culture and to demonstrate new strategies for providing safe patient care. Other showcased stories involve one person, at one point in time, making a big difference—with the ultimate goal of improving safety for every patient.

Across the Commonwealth, facilities submitted 206 nominations in nine categories. Each nomination shared a story of patient safety, with perspectives ranging from personal to organizational. Judges reviewed the nominations for each category to identify winners who demonstrated commitment and influence to improve patient safety; judges even selected two winners for one category.

We hope you find these stories inspirational and thought provoking. As you read these stories, please consider how you might continue with us on our journey of providing safe healthcare to all patients.

I Am Patient Safety: 2018 Winners

The Authority announced winners on Facebook Live on November 16, 2017, including a special recognition, the Executive Director's Choice Award. The winners have been featured on the Authority's website and at social media outlets. Let's continue to work together to provide safe patient care!

Ambulatory Surgical Facility / Ambulatory Care Center Award

Deborah Balogh, RN
Shriners Hospitals for Children—Erie Ambulatory Surgery Center

Best Use of Authority Resources Award

Janeen Smith, BSN, RN; Ann-Louise Jeffery, MSN, RNC-MNN; Liz Waterhouse, RNC-OB; Jodi Levine, MD, FAAP; Trish Ward, MSN, RNC-OB;
and Katie Costantini, MSN, RNC-MNN
Chester County Hospital

Focus on the Patient Award

Hannah Do, MD
Cancer Treatment Centers of America® at Eastern Regional Medical Center

Good Catch Award

Dawn Emes, BSN, RN, CMSRN
Lehigh Valley Hospital - Muhlenberg

Improving Diagnosis Award

Janet Cahill
Einstein Medical Center Montgomery

Improving Diagnosis and the Executive Director's Choice Award

Michelle Nelsen, RN
UPMC Hamot

Individual Impact: Going Above and Beyond Award

Raymond J. Cipollini
Einstein Medical Center Montgomery

Innovation Award

Carol Mathews, BSN, RN, CWOCN; Cecilia Zamarripa, MSN, RN, CWON; Lisa Donahue, DNP, RN, CPPS; Sarah Martin-Cua, MBA, MSN, RN; Kristian Feterik, MD, MBA
UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside

Long-Term Care Award

Heather Kline, RNAC, IP
Kendal at Crosslands

Video Award

The multidisciplinary falls team
UPMC Susquehanna—Williamsport Regional Medical Center



The Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory may be reprinted and distributed without restriction, provided it is printed or distributed in its entirety and without alteration. Individual articles may be reprinted in their entirety and without alteration, provided the source is clearly attributed.

Current and previous issues are available online at http://patientsafety.pa.gov.

©2020 Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority